Beatenberg landslide at the SAMA’s

There’s no stopping this trio. The Cape Town based group was the unexpected winners of the night. They walked away with six awards of the seven they were nominated of. Earlier on during the non-broadcast part of the ceremony they walked away with three awards for Pluto (Remember You), Beatenberg’s smash hit with DJ Clock and were named Best Selling Ring-back Tone and Best Selling Full-track Download, and also received the SAMPRA Award for Highest Airplay of the Year.

Casper Nyovest, who had five nominations, only picked up one award, Newcomer of the Year Award. AKA walked away with the sought-after Male Artist of the Year award. But in the Best Rap Album category, in which both were nominated, the award went to K.O., who also scooped the award for Best Collaboration (Caracara, featuring Kid X). Making him the clear winner in the hip hop circle.

Here is a list of winners:
Here’s the full list of winners from the 21st Annual South African Music Awards:

Album of the Year
Beatenberg – The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Duo or Group of the Year
Beatenberg – The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Female Artist of the Year
Bucie – Princess of House (Easy to Love)

Male Artist of the Year
AKA – Levels

Newcomer of the Year
Cassper Nyovest –Tsholofelo

Best Rock Album
aKING – Morning After

Best Pop Album
Beatenberg – Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Afrikaans Pop Album
Riana Nel – Die Regte Tyd

Best Adult Contemporary
Joe Niemand – Back Again

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album
Dewald Wasserfal – Ek en Jy

Best Traditional Music Album
Botlhale Boikanyo – Spoken Word & Music

Best Maskandi Album
Thokozani Langa – Igema Lami

Best Jazz Album
McCoy Mrubata – Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2

Best RnB Soul Reggae Album
Afrotraction – For The Lovers

Best Rap Album
K.O. – Skhanda Republic

Best Kwaito Album
Professor – University of Kalawa Jazmee Since 1994

Best Dance Album
Black Motion – Fortune Teller

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album
Wouter Kellerman – Winds of Samsara

Best Traditional Faith Album
Sfiso Ncwane – Bayede Baba

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Loyiso – Power Love Sound

Best African Adult Album
Maleh – You Make My Heart Go

Best Alternative Album
Bittereinder – Skerm

Best Live DVD
Robin Kohl – First Decade by Lira

Music Video of the Year
Ryan Kruger for Prime Circle – Let The Night In

Best Producer of the Year
Wouter Kellerman and Ricky Kej – Winds Of Samsara by Wouter Kellerman

Best Engineer of the Year
Brian O’Shea, Crighton Goodwill & Maruispopplanet – Johnny Apple by Johnny Apple

Best Collaboration
KO ft Kid X – Caracara

Remix of the Year
DJ Sbu, Robbie Malinga – Indlela Yam by DJ Sbu & Mojalefa Thebe

International Achievement Award
Wouter Kellerman

Lifetime Achievement Awards
M’du Masilela
Mandla Mofokeng aka Spikiri
Zim Ngqawana